4 South Battery St.

As a little girl growing up in South Carolina one of my most vivid memories is of walking the streets of Charleston and being mesmerized by the gorgeous structures, towering high overhead. It is a magnificent structure that averts a little girls attention away from the clamoring clodding of the horse drawn buggies and the never ceasing pull of the water at the peninsula’s edges. Each building was so unique with a character all its own, each told it’s own story and made you wonder about the occurrences behind those intricate iron gates.  The beauty of these structures is that the whispers of past secrets were as present as the promises of the future stories still yet to unfold.  In a city that prides itself on preservation it is easy for a little girl to dream of the future fancys and follys of a structure, letting the imagination run wild.  Never in my wildest dreams did little six year old me ever think I would have the opportunity to take a glimpse into the secret life of one of the most stunning structures along East Bay St.  Yet 22 years later, here I stand, behind those iron gates and within the threshold of one of my most beloved buildings.  This structure withstood the most brutal damages of Hurricane Hugo in 1989 but has been battling the affects of time ever since.  The restoration is fully underway and I have been working on some of the ornamental plaster preservation work. Oh ya, did I mention that this house is rumored to house the first indoor swimming pool in the State?! Knowing my background as a swimmer it’s no wonder I had such a pull to this structure, even at such a young age…Fate!  I have included some pictures from the restoration process, enjoy!

Ballroom Mantle

Ballroom Mantle

a Floor to Ceiling Beauty

a Floor to Ceiling Beauty

In-progress Mould Making of Interior Ornamental Plaster

In-progress Mould Making of Interior Ornamental Plaster

Exterior Column Capital Restoration

Exterior Column Capital Restoration

a Gathering of Corbels

a Gathering of Corbels

 

