america’s most endangered

Even though America’s built heritage isn’t considered historic by many standards it is one that we should stand behind, be proud of, and work hard to maintain.  A country’s values and aspirations are expressed in the landscapes that comprise it.  And while there are many elements of the states that make me sadly shake my head and wonder why or how the inhabitants of that area could allow for such degrading actions to take place, there are just as many sites and landscapes that make me proud to say I am an American and this is the environment I’ve grown to know as home.     I hate I’ll be abroad for the festivities of the fourth, but this is my little way of saying happy birthday america!  I’ve listed below the National Trust’s 10 Most Endangered Sites of 2011.   This 4th take some time to remember the places that our lovely little country has grown from.

Bear Butte

Belmead-on-the-James

China Alley

Fort Gaines

Greater Chaco Landscape

Isaac Manchester Farm

John Coltrane Home

National Soldiers Home Historic District

Pillsbury “A” Mill Complex

Prentice Women’s Hospital

 

