this project will be the death of me…

no, literally, it will.  Just spent the past six days straight in bed from god knows what I caught.  These ten to twelve hour work days six or seven days a week are slowing killing off any chances I might have had of making it to the good ‘ol age of 100.  But not to worry, as always I rebound and am back on top of my game!  And by top I mean once again hanging on for dear life.  We’ve had guys flying down from NY every few days to pick up new work we’ve completed.  It is around the clock madness and yes I was having dreams that resembled something closer to nightmares about it all.  As soon as we’d run a piece we let it set and then break it away from the table to cut, polish, move, and store.  1,000’s of lineal feet have moved through those warehouse doors these past few weeks and finally the light at the end is starting to shine through.  Oh wait, that’s just the deadline of the 21st of this month.  Between pouring rubber moulds and running template sleds I have given up deciding which I enjoy the most.  Running the sleds is always the more exciting but definitely the most difficult.  And it’s been interesting, as the temperatures down here have begun to warm its made our long days out at the warehouse that much more bearable.  Yet, this material is so ridiculousy tempermental it keeps us constantly changing our approach to working with the Hydrocal.  If you look up on the USG website or talk to a rep about the material, they will tell you no way in hell would you ever be able to bench run plaster mouldings with this level of plaster.  And now I’m starting to see why.  Conditions must be ideal for it all to work out just so.  Too cold of temps or too cold of water used will set the material off as well as too warm or too humid air.  And what do you know, today was one of those first muggy South Carolina spring days that only a true Southerner could love.  Reminded me of many adays in Ireland….just a soft Irish day….when it is constantly raining yet light enough to be considered a bearable downpour.  And what joy…the Hydrocal was being such a pesky little pain all day long.   BUT today was truly spectacular because it was the first time we ran a circular piece! 🙂  That much more complicated than the straight line bench runs, this time we had to set up running the pieces from a central point on a radius attached to the sled.   As we get down to the wire with this last push before the deadline I hope I can just keep finding these little joyous moments to get me through…

~d.m.

